The Burger King India 600th store has opened in GTB Nagar, Delhi, returning the chain to the city where its first Indian restaurant opened in Saket in 2014. Restaurant Brands Asia says the network now spans more than 140 cities and includes over 100 restaurants across Delhi NCR, marking a distribution milestone rather than a separate acquisition or franchise transfer.
- 600
- More than 140 cities
- Undisclosed commercial outcomes are not inferred.
Editorial angle: Everyone else is celebrating 600 stores; we are explaining what the milestone proves about geographic reach and what it does not say about unit economics.
Burger King India 600th store: verified facts
| Milestone location | GTB Nagar, Delhi |
|---|---|
| India restaurant count | 600 |
| India city reach | More than 140 cities |
| Delhi NCR network | More than 100 restaurants |
| First India store | Saket, Delhi, in 2014 |
What the count establishes
The 600 figure confirms the number of Burger King restaurants in India at the announcement date. It does not disclose how many are company-operated, the mix of full restaurants and smaller formats, or how many opened during the latest quarter. A network count is evidence of reach, but not a measure of sales, profitability or customer traffic at each location.
Why Delhi is part of the story
The milestone outlet is in GTB Nagar, while Burger King’s India debut was in Saket. Returning the headline milestone to Delhi gives the expansion a clear geographic frame. More than 100 Delhi NCR restaurants also show density in one major market, although the release does not publish neighbourhood-level revenue, delivery mix or cannibalisation between nearby sites.
What 140 cities means
Presence in more than 140 cities shows that the chain has moved beyond a metro-only footprint. City reach can support brand awareness and distribution, but each market has different rents, labour costs, delivery economics and consumer demand. The announcement does not identify the newest cities, regional store split or opening pipeline, so those details should not be reconstructed from the milestone alone.
Who operates the network
Restaurant Brands Asia is the listed company behind Burger King’s India operations. The announcement describes the opening under that network and quotes group chief executive Rajeev Varman. It does not change Burger King’s global brand ownership or announce a new master-franchise agreement. The event is a physical rollout milestone inside the existing Indian operating structure.
Store growth versus operating quality
A larger network can improve purchasing scale, marketing reach and customer access, but it also adds rent, staffing and execution obligations. The 600th opening does not provide restaurant EBITDA, payback period or same-store sales for the new location. Those measures, together with closures and mature-store performance, are needed to judge whether expansion is creating durable value.
What to watch next
Useful follow-up evidence includes net restaurant additions, city expansion, same-store sales, average daily sales and restaurant-level margins. A later 700-store target or achievement should be treated as a distinct dated event. Editors should also separate a ceremonial milestone from quarterly financial performance, even when both are discussed in market coverage around the same time.
A milestone is a snapshot
Restaurant counts can change as openings and closures occur, so 600 should be anchored to September 10, 2026. It should not be carried forward indefinitely as the live network count. A later corporate presentation may report a different figure or apply a different cutoff. Date discipline keeps the milestone useful and avoids turning a celebratory announcement into stale operating data.
What the photograph establishes
The same-event press photograph shows a Burger King storefront with authentic brand signage and a BK Café identifier. It is used to identify the announced store milestone, not to claim footfall, revenue or customer sentiment. Menu prices visible in the scene are incidental and should not be treated as a national price list because offers can vary by location and time.
Bottom line
Burger King India has reached 600 restaurants, with the milestone store in GTB Nagar and a network extending past 140 cities. The strongest conclusion is expanded physical reach; the release does not prove individual-store economics or future opening pace. Related Lapaas Voice context includes Indian manufacturing capacity and enterprise infrastructure expansion.
Frequently asked questions
Where is the Burger King India 600th store?
It is in GTB Nagar, Delhi.
How many Indian cities have Burger King restaurants?
Restaurant Brands Asia says the chain is present in more than 140 cities.
Does 600 stores prove profitability?
No. The milestone shows network reach but does not disclose unit-level sales or margins.
Sources: Restaurant Brands Asia’s NSE-filed press release and ET HospitalityWorld’s independent report.
Get the day’s top stories in your inbox
One concise email. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.



