dtcpay funding has reached $25 million for its Series A after Japan’s SBI Group joined as a strategic investor. The Singapore payments company says the round will support merchant-network growth, product upgrades and expansion into regulated markets. The headline is meaningful, but the announcement does not disclose valuation, ownership sold, revenue or transaction volume.
- The $25 million figure is the total Series A, not necessarily SBI’s individual cheque.
- SBI invested through SBI Ventures Asset and the SBI-NTU-Kyobo Digital Innovation Fund.
- Vertex Ventures Southeast Asia & India led the earlier tranche; Genedant Capital and existing investor Kwee Liong Tek also participated.
- dtcpay plans to expand merchant tools, its business portal and consumer app.
- The company did not publish valuation or operating metrics.
dtcpay disclosed the completed round through a company-issued release on September 18. CoinPost and Toobit separately reported the round and its structure. The company release is the primary record; the independent reports help distinguish the new SBI-backed extension from the original tranche announced earlier in 2026.
How the dtcpay funding round is structured
The Series A began with a tranche led by Vertex Ventures Southeast Asia & India in April. The new disclosure says SBI Group now anchors the extension through two investment vehicles: SBI Ventures Asset Pte Ltd and the SBI-NTU-Kyobo Digital Innovation Fund. Genedant Capital and existing investor Kwee Liong Tek also participated. The release describes the round as completed at $25 million.
That wording is important. It means $25 million is the aggregate Series A total, not an amount that can safely be attributed to SBI alone. No investor-by-investor allocation was published. The announcement also omits the pre-money valuation, post-money valuation, share class, board rights and dilution. Those gaps prevent a precise comparison with other stablecoin-payment funding rounds.
| Round detail | What is disclosed | What remains unknown |
|---|---|---|
| Total Series A | $25 million | Capital by investor |
| Earlier lead | Vertex Ventures SEA & India | Earlier tranche terms |
| New strategic investor | SBI Group via two vehicles | SBI cheque and ownership |
| Other participants | Genedant Capital; Kwee Liong Tek | Individual allocations |
| Valuation | Not disclosed | Pre- and post-money value |
Why SBI’s role is more than a funding headline
SBI Group spans banking, securities, insurance, asset management and digital-asset businesses. Its Singapore investment arm manages the SBI-NTU-Kyobo fund, which was formed with NTUitive and Kyobo Securities to back digital-transformation companies in Southeast Asia. dtcpay presents the investment as the start of a strategic relationship connecting Japan and Southeast Asia.
For dtcpay, that network could matter more than the undisclosed cheque size. Payments infrastructure requires banking access, regulated entities, merchant distribution and dependable conversion between fiat money and digital assets. An investor with operating businesses across those layers can introduce customers and counterparties. However, the announcement does not identify signed commercial commitments, so strategic benefits should be treated as potential rather than contracted revenue.
SBI’s participation also signals that regulated stablecoin infrastructure is drawing interest from incumbent financial groups. It does not prove consumer demand or profitability. Investors need evidence that merchants and customers use the rails repeatedly, and that compliance, liquidity and conversion expenses still leave a sustainable margin.
What dtcpay says it will build next
The company says the capital will support its merchant network, product suite and entry into additional regulated markets. Its 2026 roadmap includes a revamped portal for enterprise customers and new consumer-app features. dtcpay already markets point-of-sale acceptance for digital payment tokens, a fiat-and-stablecoin settlement engine and a Visa-linked card.
The company also cites integration with WalletConnect, merchant acceptance at Singapore department store Metro and deployments in hospitality. Those examples show that the technology has reached live settings. They do not reveal the number of active merchants, payment value, repeat usage, take rate or net revenue. Toobit’s report explicitly noted that the company did not publish transaction counts or active-merchant data.
That distinction matters because payment networks can announce many integrations before achieving dense usage. The most useful follow-up metrics would be monthly payment volume, active merchants, recurring enterprise clients, geographic revenue mix and gross profit after compliance and banking costs. Product launches alone cannot answer whether network effects are forming.
Regulation is an asset and an execution cost
dtcpay describes itself as a Major Payment Institution licensed by the Monetary Authority of Singapore and as an electronic-money institution in Luxembourg. The company says it also holds licences or registrations in Hong Kong, Australia, the United States and Canada. Each jurisdiction has different permissions, customer safeguards and reporting rules, so a long licence list should not be read as one uniform global authorisation.
The regulated footprint can help dtcpay win institutional customers that will not use unlicensed payment providers. It also creates continuing costs for compliance staff, transaction monitoring, safeguarding, audits and local operations. Expansion can therefore increase both addressable demand and fixed expense. The round’s economic value will depend on whether transaction and software revenue grows faster than that compliance base.
Stablecoin settlement may reduce some cross-border friction, but it does not eliminate conversion, liquidity, sanctions-screening or redemption risks. Enterprises still need clear reconciliation, refunds, treasury controls and accounting. dtcpay’s portal and merchant tools are the practical layer where its infrastructure thesis will be tested.
What the $25 million does not establish
The announcement does not establish a valuation, profitability, market share or guaranteed launch schedule. It also does not separate primary capital from any secondary transaction. Because the company calls the financing a completed Series A, the next evidence should be operating delivery: product releases, named regulated-market launches and transparent usage milestones.
Customers should also distinguish settlement speed from end-to-end availability. A fast blockchain transfer can still depend on banking hours, local redemption partners and compliance review before a merchant receives usable fiat. Service-level data would show whether dtcpay reduces the complete payment cycle.
The useful takeaway: dtcpay funding now gives the company $25 million of Series A backing and a strategic link to SBI Group. The stronger investment case would require proof that regulated stablecoin infrastructure is converting merchant integrations into repeat payment volume and durable margins.
Frequently asked questions
How much did dtcpay raise?
dtcpay says its completed Series A totals $25 million. It did not disclose how much SBI invested individually.
Who invested in dtcpay?
The round includes Vertex Ventures Southeast Asia & India, SBI Group through two vehicles, Genedant Capital and existing investor Kwee Liong Tek.
What will dtcpay use the money for?
The company says it will expand its merchant network and regulated footprint, upgrade its enterprise portal and add consumer-app features.
Did dtcpay disclose its valuation?
No. The announcement did not provide pre-money or post-money valuation, investor allocations or dilution.
Related reading: how payment pricing shapes merchant economics and how regulated tokenised-asset infrastructure is developing.
Get the day’s top stories in your inbox
One concise email. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.



