GE Vernova T&D India says Power Grid has informed it that it is the lowest bidder for designing and establishing a 6,000 MW, ±800 kV high-voltage direct-current terminal system linking Barmer II and South Kalamb. L1 status puts the company first in the commercial ranking, but it is not the same as a final contract award.
- The scheme has two 3,000 MW LCC terminal blocks.
- It is designed to move renewable power from Barmer II to South Kalamb.
- Execution would span multiple years.
- The company did not disclose the bid value.
- A final award remains a future step.
GE Vernova HVDC tender facts
| Client | Power Grid Corporation of India |
|---|---|
| Bid status | L1, or lowest bidder |
| Transfer capacity | 6,000 MW |
| Voltage | ±800 kV HVDC |
| Configuration | Two 3,000 MW line-commutated converter terminals |
| Route | Barmer II to South Kalamb |
| Value | Not disclosed |
GE Vernova T&D India manufactures and supplies grid equipment and executes transmission projects. The filing says Power Grid issued a letter identifying the company as L1 for design, supply and execution. It does not say that a letter of award has been signed, nor does it quantify consideration.
Everyone else is reporting the scale; we are explaining the procurement status. In public tenders, L1 generally means the lowest evaluated commercial bidder. The buyer may still complete technical checks, internal approvals, negotiations or other formalities before issuing the final award. Financial Express made the same distinction in its direct report.
The proposed system uses line-commutated converter technology at ±800 kV. HVDC is suited to moving large blocks of electricity across long distances with controllable flows. The filing identifies the endpoints and aggregate capacity but does not provide route length, package boundaries, equipment sourcing, commissioning date or commercial terms.
Barmer II in Rajasthan is the sending-end context named in the disclosure, while South Kalamb in Maharashtra is the receiving end. The stated purpose is evacuation of renewable power. That makes the terminals part of a wider network: generating projects, AC connections, the HVDC line and downstream substations must all be ready for the full transfer capability to matter.
A multi-year execution period spreads engineering, procurement, manufacturing, civil work, installation, testing and commissioning over time. Revenue recognition therefore cannot be inferred from the 6,000 MW capacity figure. Capacity measures power transfer; it is not a contract price.
The missing consideration is especially important. Without a disclosed rupee value and final scope split, investors cannot calculate order-book addition, margin contribution or working-capital need. Those questions should wait for a formal award or later company disclosure.
Converter terminals are complex systems rather than single pieces of equipment. Their execution can involve valves, transformers, controls, protection, cooling, civil foundations and grid integration. The filing does not allocate these packages between GE Vernova T&D India, affiliates or other contractors, so no supplier-specific revenue split can be inferred.
Project risk also sits at the interfaces. Delays in associated transmission lines or generation connections can affect testing even if terminal equipment is ready. Conversely, a terminal delay can hold back use of completed upstream assets. Milestone reporting will therefore be more informative than treating L1 status as immediate operating capacity.
For India’s grid, the disclosed purpose is material because renewable resources are often distant from major demand centres. A controllable long-distance link can help transfer large power blocks, but reliability depends on coordinated protection, maintenance and scheduling across the wider network. The tender is a construction commitment, not a forecast of delivered renewable energy.
A self-contained conclusion is that GE Vernova leads the commercial ranking for Power Grid’s 6,000 MW Barmer II–South Kalamb HVDC terminals, while award, price and commissioning remain unconfirmed. The next decisive document is the buyer’s letter of award or an executed contract.
For related context, Lapaas Voice has explained Texmaco Rail’s wagon orders and India’s coal-and-rail supply response. These are separate events, linked here because they show how rolling stock and transmission infrastructure become operating capacity only through execution.
Frequently asked questions
Has GE Vernova won the final Power Grid order?
No final award was disclosed. The company said it was identified as the L1 bidder.
What does the project build?
Two 3,000 MW, ±800 kV HVDC LCC terminal stations connecting Barmer II and South Kalamb.
What is the project value?
The filing did not disclose consideration.
How long will execution take?
The company said multiple years without giving a completion date.
Sources and methodology
The direct exchange filing controls status, capacity and scope. Financial Express, T&D India and IDBI Capital were used as independent publication checks. The article consistently distinguishes L1 ranking from a final order.
Get the day’s top stories in your inbox
One concise email. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.



