Google has scheduled a change to model choice in the Gemini app for personal accounts without a paid AI plan. Starting October 9, 2026, those accounts will have Flash-Lite as their available model, according to Google’s model-access notice. As of October 4, the change is still ahead, not a restriction that has already taken effect.
Key takeaways
- The October 9 date applies to personal Gemini app users without an AI subscription; Google describes the change as beginning to take effect then.
- Google’s published after-change table gives free accounts Flash-Lite, AI Plus accounts Flash-Lite and Flash, and AI Pro and AI Ultra all three model classes.
- Google has not supplied a universal effective date for AI Plus. It says subscribers should receive an email explaining their date.
- The notice concerns model selection inside Gemini Apps. It does not announce an equivalent change to Gemini API pricing or AI Studio.
The distinction between an announced policy and an already deployed restriction matters. A free user may still see other models before the rollout reaches their account. A reader making a subscription decision should compare the current account interface with the current Gemini Apps plan page, which warns that availability and limits can change.
What does Google’s Gemini app notice actually say?
Google’s help document says model availability will change in October 2026 for personal accounts. For users without a Google AI subscription, the changes start to take effect on October 9. The table below that statement describes what each plan can use after the change. It marks Flash-Lite available without a plan, but not Flash or Pro. AI Plus has Flash-Lite and Flash, but not Pro. AI Pro and AI Ultra have all three. Those are categories of model access, not promises about unlimited prompts.
For AI Plus, the same document does not give an October 9 deadline. It instead says affected subscribers should receive an email with their effective date. It would therefore be wrong to tell every Plus subscriber that Pro vanishes on October 9. The notice also does not set India prices or say that existing subscription charges are unchanged. Regional plan pricing should be checked in the user’s own Google account before purchase.
Independent reports have noticed the same policy. 9to5Google’s October 3 report compares the new table with earlier model availability. ITmedia’s October 4 account explains the plan distinctions for its readers. ET Now’s October 4 report examines what the change means for free users. Each is a separately authored report; Google’s help page is the primary source for the actual policy.
How does each personal plan compare?
The clearest way to read Google’s table is as a model-access matrix. A check mark means a model class is listed as available after the relevant change. It does not tell us how many times it can be used, whether every account sees the same rollout day, or what a subscription costs in every country.
| Personal plan | Flash-Lite | Flash | Pro |
|---|---|---|---|
| No AI plan | Yes | No after change | No after change |
| AI Plus | Yes | Yes | No after its notified date |
| AI Pro | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| AI Ultra | Yes | Yes | Yes |
Google also says users can select low, medium or high effort where a model is available. A higher effort level may yield a more thorough answer but use more of an account’s allowance. Google lists Deep Think for AI Pro and AI Ultra in this notice. The document does not say that Deep Think will be available for every task, language or location, so its appearance should be checked in the account itself.
Does this affect the Gemini API or AI Studio?
No equivalent API change is announced in this Gemini Apps help notice. The Gemini app is the consumer assistant reached through its web and mobile interfaces. The Gemini Developer API and Google AI Studio are separate developer products with their own models, pricing and quotas. An app subscriber should not infer an API entitlement from a consumer subscription; an API user should not infer a developer pricing change from this personal-account table.
That distinction matters to Indian startups. A team may use Gemini in its employees’ personal accounts for drafting and research while its product calls Gemini through an API. The announced Gemini app model choices may affect a founder’s personal workflow, but the team should inspect developer API pricing and its own billing separately before changing a production system. A comparison of the app’s free plan with per-token API charges would mix two different services.
Similarly, Google’s support page does not promise that image creation, search-connected answers or file handling will remain identical under every model. Feature and usage policies have their own documentation and can vary by account, country and demand. An earlier version of this article said free Flash-Lite would definitely preserve specific search and image functions, and that AI Studio offered a universal no-subscription route to Pro. Those claims are not established by the October model-access notice and have been removed.
What should Indian users do before October 9?
For ordinary Gemini app use, no immediate payment decision is necessary solely because the announcement exists. Check which model is currently selected, whether any important work depends on Flash or Pro, and what options appear after the change reaches the account. Google says personal accounts without an AI plan are affected from October 9; it does not say that all accounts worldwide will switch at exactly the same minute.
People using the app for high-stakes work should keep a human review step regardless of the model. A model-access table says nothing about the quality of a particular legal, financial, medical or coding answer. The practical question is whether a user’s workflow still performs adequately under the available model and the account’s usage limits. Keep copies of important documents outside a chat tool and check the privacy settings of the service before sending confidential material.
AI Plus subscribers should watch for Google’s account email. The help page specifically says this is how the change date will be conveyed to them. A promotional rate, family arrangement or local payment currency may affect what a user sees in billing. Therefore the $4.99 and $19.99 US figures repeated in some coverage should not be presented as guaranteed India prices. The most useful comparison is the user’s actual local offer, effective date and available models.
Developers also need to separate the consumer choice from the model behind an application they build. An API deployment has cost, rate-limit, reliability and data-governance questions that this notice does not answer. Lapaas Voice’s earlier Android assistant coverage describes how Gemini became more prominent on phones, while our Flash-model report tracks a different issue: Google’s developer model lineup. Neither prior story changes the scope of this October account-access notice.
What does this policy reveal—and what remains unknown?
The observable policy is narrower than a claim that Google has abandoned free AI or imposed a new global paywall on every Gemini product. Google is keeping Flash-Lite listed for free personal accounts, while reserving Flash and Pro in the Gemini app for paid plans after the relevant transitions. Its help document does not state why it chose this boundary. Claims that it was forced by inference cost, that it aims to steer people to a particular new model, or that free users will inevitably upgrade are interpretation, not disclosed company reasoning.
There is also no announced universal AI Plus cutover date in the source. The availability matrix is an after-change picture; it should not be read as proof that every subscriber has already lost Pro. Google could amend the document, test differing access, or revise limits. The company’s broader Gemini Apps limits page explicitly warns that model names, availability and limits may change. Our account of the policy is therefore dated to October 4 and should be revisited when the rollout starts.
Publishers are broadly aligned on the central change. 9to5Google focused on the update to Google’s help documentation and the new effort controls. ITmedia described which plans retain Flash and Pro. ET Now emphasized the practical effect on free users. None of those reports provides evidence for the earlier article’s confident forecast about Google’s infrastructure costs, mass migration to rival tools, or India-specific payment burden. We have not carried those forecasts forward.
Frequently asked questions
Is the free Gemini app already restricted to Flash-Lite?
Google says the change for personal accounts without an AI plan begins to take effect on October 9, 2026. This article was checked on October 4, before that start date.
When will AI Plus lose Pro access?
Google has not given one public date for all AI Plus users in the cited help notice. It says subscribers should receive an email explaining when their change takes effect.
Does the change include Gemini API customers?
The cited notice is about model availability in Gemini Apps for personal accounts. API model access and billing are governed by separate developer documentation.
Will AI Pro and Ultra retain Pro?
Yes, Google’s after-change table lists Flash-Lite, Flash and Pro for both AI Pro and AI Ultra, subject to the company’s normal availability and usage limits.
Correction note, October 4, 2026: This article was rewritten against Google’s primary help notice. The earlier version described a future free-tier restriction as if it were already active, assigned an unsupported date to AI Plus, presented US prices as if they were India prices, and speculated about Google’s motives and feature behavior. Those claims have been corrected or removed.
Get the day’s top stories in your inbox
One concise email. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.



