Lupin’s Modafinil US FDA approval covers 100 mg and 200 mg tablets under an Abbreviated New Drug Application. The company announced the final approval on September 4, 2026, identifying Provigil tablets from Nuvo Pharmaceuticals (Ireland) DAC as the reference listed drug.

What exactly the US FDA approved

Lupin received approval for its Abbreviated New Drug Application, or ANDA, for Modafinil Tablets USP in two strengths. An ANDA is the regulatory route used for a generic medicine. Rather than repeating the full clinical-development programme of the original drug, an applicant must meet requirements that include pharmaceutical equivalence, manufacturing quality and bioequivalence to the reference product.

The reference listed drug is Provigil, held in the FDA’s Orange Book under Nuvo Pharmaceuticals (Ireland) DAC. Lupin’s press release states that its tablets are bioequivalent to the reference. That is a regulatory finding about the approved product and comparison standard; it is not a claim that every commercial outcome will match the branded medicine.

Lupin modafinil approval facts
Item Verified detail
Regulatory pathway Abbreviated New Drug Application
Dosage form Modafinil Tablets USP
Strengths 100 mg and 200 mg
Reference listed drug Provigil tablets
RLD holder named Nuvo Pharmaceuticals (Ireland) DAC
Approval announced 4 September 2026
Company-cited US RLD sales $70.7 million, IQVIA MAT July 2026
Launch timing Not disclosed

Generic drug approval pathwayLupin’s abbreviated new drug application moved through product equivalence, bioequivalence and manufacturing review to final FDA approval.What final ANDA approval establishesGenericapplicationEquivalencereviewQuality andmanufacturingFinal FDAapprovalApproval does not disclose launch timing, price, market share or commercial profit.Sources: US FDA generic-drug framework and Lupin announcement, 4 September 2026

The approved use—and the boundary around it

The company states that the approved tablets are indicated to improve wakefulness in adults with excessive sleepiness associated with narcolepsy, obstructive sleep apnoea, or shift work disorder. This is the approved indication language, not a recommendation for self-treatment. Modafinil is a prescription medicine, and treatment decisions belong with a qualified clinician using the FDA-approved labelling.

The obstructive sleep apnoea indication requires particular care in reporting. A wakefulness medicine does not correct the underlying airway obstruction. The FDA-approved label and prescriber guidance determine how it is used alongside treatment for the underlying condition. Readers should not interpret a corporate approval announcement as safety guidance, dosing instruction or permission to change existing care.

The United States Pharmacopeia lists a compendial monograph for modafinil, supporting the identity of the drug substance and quality framework. That reference does not replace the product-specific FDA label. Contraindications, warnings, interactions and patient suitability must be taken from current official prescribing information.

Why final ANDA approval matters commercially

Everyone else is reporting the FDA approval and the market-size number; we are separating regulatory access from commercial performance. Final approval generally permits a sponsor to market the approved generic, subject to any remaining legal, supply and launch considerations. It therefore removes a major regulatory barrier, but it does not guarantee immediate shipments.

Lupin did not disclose a launch date, manufacturing site, channel inventory, contracted customers or expected share. It also did not state whether there are unresolved patent, exclusivity or settlement constraints affecting timing. A responsible commercial assessment must wait for a launch confirmation or sales evidence.

The company cited estimated annual US sales of $70.7 million for the reference product, based on IQVIA data for the 12 months ended July 2026. That figure describes the reference-product market tracked by the data provider. It is not Lupin revenue, not the total value of every modafinil prescription, and not a forecast of what Lupin will earn.

From reference product sales to generic revenueThe company-cited 70.7 million dollar reference-product sales figure must pass through launch timing, generic competition, pricing and market share before it can translate into Lupin revenue.Why $70.7 million is not a forecastRLD sales cited$70.7mLaunch timingCompetitionPrice and shareActual LupinrevenueNo launch date, price, share or profit guidance was disclosed.Company source for RLD sales: IQVIA MAT July 2026, quoted by Lupin

Competition changes the value of the opportunity

Generic markets can become price-competitive quickly when several approved suppliers serve the same strengths. Revenue depends on how many competitors are actively shipping, their capacity, wholesaler contracts, pharmacy demand and the discounts required to win volume. An approval count alone cannot show those conditions.

Modafinil has also been available in generic form in the United States for years. Lupin’s entry is therefore not equivalent to launching the first generic after brand exclusivity. The opportunity is better understood as access to an established multisource market where supply reliability and customer relationships matter.

This competitive context is why the $70.7 million reference-product number should be handled cautiously. Reference-brand sales can persist even with generic alternatives, and generic sales often occur at different net prices. Multiplying that number by an assumed share would create a forecast not supported by the announcement.

What the source record confirms

Lupin’s official newsroom and the PR Newswire distribution both carry the September 4 announcement, including the strengths, reference drug, indications and IQVIA figure. The FDA’s Orange Book identifies Provigil as a modafinil product associated with Nuvo Pharmaceuticals (Ireland) DAC. The FDA’s generic-drug materials explain the ANDA framework and the meaning of bioequivalence.

Independent market-news summaries published after the announcement reported the same core facts. They are useful timestamp corroboration, but they do not add launch economics. Where a secondary headline compresses “FDA approval” into a market opportunity, the primary approval language and FDA records deserve priority.

No source reviewed for this article provided a Lupin-specific prescription forecast, price, market-share target or profit contribution. Those figures are therefore excluded. The article also makes no claim about individual clinical outcomes, off-label use or comparative safety beyond the regulatory facts.

How this fits Lupin’s US generics strategy

A final ANDA approval adds another product that Lupin can potentially commercialise through its US operation. Portfolio breadth can help a generic manufacturer spread development and sales infrastructure across more products. Yet the economic contribution of each approval varies widely with competition, complexity and supply.

Modafinil tablets are conventional oral solid dosage forms, not a newly invented delivery device or biologic. The strategic value lies in regulatory execution and portfolio participation. The approval should not be described as a scientific breakthrough by Lupin; it is an authorised generic version meeting the relevant standards.

Lapaas Voice has applied the same evidence discipline to Tata Motors’ Iveco deal structure and LEAP India’s quarterly operating performance, separating announced value from realised economics.

Risks and uncertainties to track

The first uncertainty is launch timing. Approval and launch can occur close together, but they are separate events. Confirmation may come through product availability, distributor listings or a later company update. Until then, approval should be described as market access, not booked sales.

The second is competition. Active generic suppliers may respond through pricing or contract terms. The third is manufacturing and compliance. FDA approval reflects the reviewed application, while continued supply depends on facilities maintaining quality standards and successfully producing commercial batches.

The fourth is demand composition. Reference-product sales can move because of volume, price, payer behaviour and switching between brand and generic products. The IQVIA number is a useful scale marker but not a stable addressable-market guarantee.

Finally, drug reporting carries a safety obligation. Modafinil is not a general productivity aid. Public discussion sometimes detaches wakefulness medicines from their approved uses and medical supervision. This article reports a corporate and regulatory event and does not offer medical guidance.

What to watch next

The most meaningful next event is a confirmed US launch. After that, analysts can look for management commentary on uptake, competition and contribution, though companies do not always disclose product-level sales. Shipment evidence matters more than an assumed launch date.

FDA database updates can confirm product and labelling details. Any future manufacturing inspection or regulatory communication should be evaluated separately rather than projected from this approval. Approval for one ANDA does not certify unrelated products or facilities.

For financial interpretation, quarterly US sales trends and gross-margin commentary may provide indirect evidence. Even then, isolating modafinil could be impossible without company disclosure. The correct base case is uncertainty, not a precise model built from a single market-size statistic.

Frequently asked questions

Which modafinil strengths did the FDA approve for Lupin?

The final ANDA approval covers Modafinil Tablets USP in 100 mg and 200 mg strengths.

What is the reference listed drug?

Lupin identifies Provigil tablets from Nuvo Pharmaceuticals (Ireland) DAC as the reference listed drug. The FDA Orange Book also lists Provigil with modafinil as the active ingredient.

What conditions appear in the approved indication?

The company announcement states improvement of wakefulness in adults with excessive sleepiness associated with narcolepsy, obstructive sleep apnoea or shift work disorder. Patients should rely on current FDA labelling and a clinician, not a news article, for medical decisions.

Does $70.7 million represent Lupin’s expected sales?

No. It is the company-cited estimate of annual US reference-product sales for the 12 months ended July 2026. Lupin did not disclose expected revenue, price or share.

Has Lupin launched the product?

The September 4 announcement confirms approval but does not provide a launch date. Approval and commercial availability should be treated as separate milestones.

The bottom line

Lupin has secured final US regulatory approval for two strengths of generic modafinil. The decision expands its addressable portfolio, while the commercial result still depends on launch timing, competition, pricing, supply and customer uptake. The source record supports the approval; it does not support a revenue forecast or personal medical advice.

Sources

Get the day’s top stories in your inbox

One concise email. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.