Alkem Laboratories launched NeuCeno, its brand of cenobamate, in India on September 16 for adults with partial-onset seizures. The once-daily prescription medicine is available in six tablet strengths, widening the commercial treatment options available to neurologists rather than creating a self-treatment product.
What the NeuCeno launch changes
The immediate change is availability. Alkem’s exchange-filed release describes NeuCeno as the first introduction of cenobamate in India and lists 12.5 mg, 25 mg, 50 mg, 100 mg, 150 mg and 200 mg strengths. The range is relevant because cenobamate treatment is normally adjusted in stages under medical supervision.
The announcement expands Alkem’s chronic neurology portfolio. It does not establish a price, distribution reach or patient-level outcome in India, and the company release did not provide those commercial details.
| Launch fact | Confirmed detail |
|---|---|
| Active ingredient | Cenobamate |
| Indication | Partial-onset seizures in adults |
| Format | Once-daily oral tablets |
| Strengths | 12.5, 25, 50, 100, 150 and 200 mg |
NeuCeno claims need careful reading
Alkem attributes a dual mechanism to cenobamate and cites clinical-study results for seizure reduction and seizure freedom. Those are company-presented trial findings, not a promise that every patient will obtain the same result. We have therefore not converted them into an efficacy headline.
NeuCeno is a newly launched prescription option for a defined adult seizure indication; the launch itself does not replace diagnosis, specialist prescribing, titration or monitoring. Patients should not start, stop or change seizure medication from a news report.
Why this matters for Alkem
A specialised neurology launch can deepen Alkem’s chronic-therapy presence, where treatment relationships tend to be longer than in acute medicine. Execution will depend on physician adoption, supply, pharmacovigilance and access, none of which can be inferred from a launch release alone.
The distinction between approval and commercial availability also matters across the drug sector. Our report on an Aurobindo inhaler approval shows why regulatory clearance and market rollout are separate milestones, while Sun Pharma’s GIFT City treasury centre illustrates the financial infrastructure behind large pharmaceutical groups.
What remains unknown after launch
Alkem did not disclose NeuCeno’s retail price, initial inventory, hospital reach or sales target in the reviewed announcement. Those missing details matter because a medicine can be legally launched before access becomes broad or consistent across regions.
Post-launch safety reporting and physician experience will shape adoption. The strongest business evidence will therefore be prescription use, supply continuity and monitored real-world experience over subsequent quarters, not the number of announced tablet strengths alone.
The six strengths also signal the need for controlled dispensing and clear instructions. A broad strength range can support gradual adjustment, but it increases the importance of packaging accuracy, pharmacy counselling and avoiding accidental substitution. Those safeguards sit beyond a launch announcement and should be monitored as distribution grows.
For Alkem, future disclosures on availability, pricing and pharmacovigilance would make the commercial impact easier to judge. Until then, the confirmed fact is a product launch for a defined adult indication.
Sources: Alkem Laboratories exchange filing; Business Standard; Business Upturn.
Frequently asked questions
What is NeuCeno?
NeuCeno is Alkem Laboratories’ India brand of cenobamate for adult partial-onset seizures.
Can patients switch to NeuCeno themselves?
No. It is a prescription anti-seizure medicine; treatment choice and dose changes require a qualified clinician.
Did Alkem disclose the price?
The reviewed launch release did not state a retail price or detailed distribution plan.
Get the day’s top stories in your inbox
One concise email. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.



