Startup Atlas · EdTech

BYJU'S Unicorn Shut down

Think & Learn Private Limited Bengaluru, Karnataka Founded 2011 byjus.com ↗
Byju Raveendran · Founder & CEO Divya Gokulnath · Co-founder & Director
$2.71 BnTotal funding (tracked)
7Funding rounds
12 May 2023Last round

BYJU'S: Financial Breakdown

Figures below are FY23, consolidated basis, compiled from filings and disclosures — every year cited to its source.

~Rs 6,500 crore (unaudited/provisional estimate)Total revenue · +39.9% YoY
Not disclosed / no audited or reliably reported net loss figure found for FY23Net profit

Revenue by fiscal year

0200400600800$MRs 2,381 crore: $283.5M284FY20Rs 2,428 crore: $289M289FY21Rs 5,015 crore (revenue from operations); Rs 283 crore other income; Rs 5,298 crore total income: $596.9M597FY22~Rs 6,500 crore (unaudited/provisional estimate): $773.8M774FY23

Net profit / loss by fiscal year

-1,000-800-600-400-2000$MNet loss of Rs 262 crore (up from Rs 8.9 crore loss in FY19): $-31.2M-31FY20Net loss of Rs 4,588 crore (~19x the prior year's loss): $-546.2M-546FY21Net loss of Rs 8,245.2 crore: $-981.6M-982FY22

Bars below the line are a net loss for that year.

Fiscal year Revenue Total expenses EBITDA Net profit / loss Source
FY23 ~Rs 6,500 crore (unaudited/provisional estimate) Not disclosed / no audited or reliably reported net loss figure found for FY23 source
FY22 Rs 5,015 crore (revenue from operations); Rs 283 crore other income; Rs 5,298 crore total income Rs 13,668 crore Net loss of Rs 8,245.2 crore source
FY21 Rs 2,428 crore Rs 7,027 crore (per FY21 comparative shown in the later FY22 filing; not separately confirmed in the original Sept 2022 FY21 disclosure) Core-business EBITDA loss of roughly Rs 2,406 crore (a different, narrower metric than the consolidated net loss) Net loss of Rs 4,588 crore (~19x the prior year's loss) source
FY20 Rs 2,381 crore Rs 3,022 crore Net loss of Rs 262 crore (up from Rs 8.9 crore loss in FY19) source

Nothing here is blurred or gated — every figure Atlas has is shown in full, free.

Sources & corrections. Every fact on this page is compiled from cited public sources — follow the "source" links beside each entry. Profile sources: techcrunch.com · Last verified 7 Sep 2026. · Report a correction