STL fiber trunks now cover 48 to 576 fibres in pre-terminated, plenum-rated assemblies for indoor AI data centres, after the Indian optical-connectivity company said the range secured US OFNP certification and NFPA 262 compliance. The practical benefit is narrower than the “AI-ready” label: operators can route denser fibre through air-handling spaces while avoiding on-site splicing.
- STL says its 48F–576F Intermittently Bonded Ribbon assemblies are qualified for US plenum spaces.
- Factory-installed, polished and tested connectors are intended to reduce field work during data-centre fit-outs.
- The announcement does not name customers, pricing, shipment volumes or independent performance benchmarks.
In plain English: STL has cleared a fire-safety and installation hurdle for a family of high-density fibre trunks aimed at hyperscale, colocation and enterprise data halls. Certification makes the product eligible for more indoor pathways; it does not by itself prove commercial adoption.
What STL fiber trunks actually add
STL’s September 10 release describes Optical Fiber Nonconductive Plenum assemblies based on its Intermittently Bonded Ribbon design. The 48F-to-576F range arrives with connectors installed, polished and tested at the factory, removing the need to fuse individual fibres in the data hall.
That matters in overhead and underfloor spaces used for air circulation, where cabling has to meet stricter flame-spread and smoke requirements. Construction Mirror separately reported the product launch and its focus on dense, space-constrained AI data-centre routes. FutureSense India also confirmed the OFNP certification, NFPA 262 compliance and 48F–576F span.
| Item | Verified detail |
|---|---|
| Product | Pre-terminated IBR fibre trunk assemblies |
| Range | 48 to 576 fibres |
| Indoor rating | OFNP, with NFPA 262 compliance claimed by STL |
| Target sites | Hyperscale, colocation and enterprise data centres |
| Not disclosed | Price, named buyers, orders, shipment date or benchmark data |
Why the certification matters more than the AI label
AI clusters drive more links between accelerators, switches and storage, but the product is passive cabling rather than an AI system. Its relevance comes from packing many fibres into limited pathways and meeting the fire rules applied to return-air spaces. Pre-termination can also reduce specialist labour on site and make test responsibility clearer because the assembly is checked before shipment.
The release says the portfolio is designed for tight routing environments. It does not quantify bend performance, insertion loss, deployment-time savings or total-cost reduction, so buyers still need engineering data for their exact layout. Certification is a gate into a project specification, not a substitute for validation.
What the launch signals for STL
The product extends STL’s attempt to sell higher-value connectivity into the global data-centre build-out from an Indian engineering base. The company is positioning around physical infrastructure that must be installed before compute capacity can go live, a different opportunity from selling software or accelerators.
That infrastructure angle also connects with India’s wider automation push. Lapaas Voice recently covered the TCS lights-out factory lab in Pune and Harmoni’s factory-AI work with HAL. In each case, the difficult part is deployment in a physical environment, not simply access to an AI model.
What customers should verify next
Procurement teams should ask for the certificate scope, connector options, insertion-loss budgets, polarity method, bend limits, lead times and compatibility with their containment design. They should also distinguish the number of fibres in a trunk from usable network capacity, which depends on optics, switching architecture and redundancy.
STL has established that the assemblies meet a recognised US plenum test and cover a broad fibre-count range. The next evidence should be customer deployments, measured installation savings and reliable volume delivery. Until those appear, this is a credible qualification milestone rather than proof of market share.
Where deployment savings could come from
STL attributes faster installation and lower cost to removing field splicing and associated equipment. That mechanism is plausible because a pre-terminated trunk shifts connector preparation and testing into a controlled factory process. On site, crews can route the assembly and connect it rather than preparing each fibre end. The actual saving will vary with route length, connector count, labour rates, access windows and whether an operator already has specialist splicing staff.
Pre-termination also changes where mistakes are found. Factory testing can catch connector or continuity problems before shipment, while field teams still have to protect the assembly during pulling, respect bend limits and verify the completed link. A damaged connector or an incorrectly specified length may be harder to repair locally than a conventional cable, so project measurement and ordering discipline remain important.
The 48F-to-576F range gives designers options for different density levels, but the highest fibre count is not automatically the best selection. A larger trunk can conserve pathway space while concentrating more connections into one assembly. Engineers must balance that density against routing difficulty, resilience, future additions and the operational impact of a single cable fault. STL’s announcement establishes the available range; it does not prescribe a universal architecture.
Frequently asked questions
What are STL fiber trunks?
They are factory-terminated optical-fibre assemblies that bundle 48 to 576 fibres for indoor data-centre connections. The connectors are installed, polished and tested before delivery.
What does OFNP mean?
OFNP is an Optical Fiber Nonconductive Plenum rating for fibre cable used in air-handling spaces. STL says this range also complies with the NFPA 262 fire test.
Does the launch mean hyperscalers have ordered the product?
No. STL named hyperscale, colocation and enterprise operators as target users, but did not disclose buyers, order values, shipment volumes or pricing.
Get the day’s top stories in your inbox
One concise email. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.



