CG Power’s Sehore transformer plant rolled out its first unit on September 4, bringing the initial phase of a ₹792 crore greenfield investment into operation. The company says the Madhya Pradesh site starts with 10,000 MVA of annual capacity and will rise in phases to 45,000 MVA.
The rollout confirms that manufacturing has begun, but it does not disclose the first transformer’s customer, selling price, delivery date or acceptance status. Those missing details are central to separating physical commissioning from commercial utilisation.
What became operational at Sehore
CG Power disclosed that part of its T5 facility in Sehore is operational and produced its first transformer. Construction began in October 2025 after the land lease was completed in June 2025. The rollout is therefore an operating milestone, not merely another plan to build.
The plant targets power transformers across the 220 kV to 1,200 kV range. Its first phase provides 10,000 MVA of installed manufacturing capacity. Remaining sections are scheduled to be commissioned progressively until the site reaches 45,000 MVA.
| Item | Company disclosure |
|---|---|
| Investment | ₹792 crore |
| Site area | 50 acres |
| Product range | 220 kV to 1,200 kV class power transformers |
| Initial capacity | 10,000 MVA |
| Planned T5 capacity | 45,000 MVA |
| Planned total company capacity | 120,000 MVA |
| Funding | QIP proceeds and internal accruals |
How Sehore changes CG Power’s manufacturing footprint
CG already operates two transformer locations in Madhya Pradesh. T2 at Malanpur has 10,000 MVA of distribution-transformer capacity, while T3 at Mandideep has 65,000 MVA of power-transformer capacity. The company says both were operating at full utilisation when it filed the Sehore update.
Once T5 reaches 45,000 MVA, the three-site transformer base would total 120,000 MVA. Of that, 110,000 MVA would be power-transformer capacity from T3 and T5. Those are installed-capacity figures, not production or sales guarantees.
Everyone else is reporting “India’s largest” and the first rollout; we are separating the first operating phase from the planned end state. Only 10,000 MVA is described as initially operational. The remaining 35,000 MVA still depends on phased commissioning, equipment qualification, labour readiness and customer schedules.
What ₹792 crore is intended to buy
The disclosed investment funds land development, buildings, heavy manufacturing equipment, testing infrastructure and the progressive capacity ramp. Large power transformers require specialised winding, insulation, assembly and high-voltage testing capabilities. The filing does not provide a unit-by-unit capital-spending schedule.
CG states that QIP proceeds and internal accruals finance the project. This funding mix means the plant is not presented as dependent on a new project loan. It does not reveal how much of the ₹792 crore has already been spent or the depreciation profile after commissioning.
Demand drivers—and why they are not forecasts
The company identifies renewable energy, data centres, railways, oil and gas, transmission infrastructure and exports as target markets. All need grid equipment, and rising power demand can support transformer orders. But a list of addressable sectors does not show signed contracts for T5.
Power-transformer orders are project-specific and can have long lead times. Buyers evaluate voltage class, losses, reliability, testing and delivery. Product mix matters because MVA is a capacity measure: two plants with the same MVA output can have different unit counts and economics.
ETManufacturing, T&D India and 5 Dariya independently reported the rollout, 50-acre scale, voltage range and monthly-unit claim from the company release. T&D India also distinguished initial and full capacity. None supplied independent utilisation or revenue results for T5 because commercial production has just begun.
The 35-units-per-month claim
CG’s release says the facility is designed to roll out 35 transformers every month. That is a design-capability statement, not a confirmed current run rate. The actual number will depend on product size, testing cycles, customer acceptance and the pace at which later phases become available.
The safest benchmark is therefore delivered MVA and realised sales over time. Monthly units can be misleading when transformer ratings vary widely. Management may later disclose utilisation, order backlog or revenue contribution, but those figures were not part of the rollout filing.
Employment and local execution
The company expects more than 2,000 direct and indirect employment opportunities. This is an expectation and should not be restated as a current payroll count. Construction and supplier activity can create indirect work that differs from permanent factory employment.
The first transformer was rolled out in the presence of Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Mohan Yadav. Government participation marks the industrial-policy context, but it does not substitute for independent verification of capacity use or jobs created.
Lapaas Voice has applied similar milestone discipline to UltraTech’s UltraVolt manufacturing launch and RVNL’s Buxar infrastructure award.
Why transformer capacity matters now
India’s electricity system is adding generation while also strengthening the transmission network needed to move power between regions. Renewable projects, industrial loads and large data-centre campuses can all require new substations or network upgrades. High-voltage transformers are critical equipment in that chain because they adjust voltage for efficient transmission and safe distribution.
That backdrop makes manufacturing capacity strategically useful, but it does not remove execution risk. Grid projects can face land, approval and right-of-way delays, while export orders must meet destination standards and customer testing requirements. A factory can be ready before the projects that need its output reach procurement.
CG’s existing plants being at full utilisation explains the logic for a separate greenfield site. It also raises the importance of a smooth transfer from commissioning to repeat production. New equipment must demonstrate process stability, and customers may require type tests or factory acceptance before dispatch.
What the filing does not establish
The announcement does not disclose a Sehore-specific order book, customer list, selling price, expected revenue, operating margin or payback period. It also does not say how much of the initial capacity is already covered by firm orders. Those omissions prevent a reliable calculation of near-term earnings from the capacity figures alone.
Nor does the filing provide the commissioning dates for each remaining phase. “Progressively” signals a staged ramp, but it is not a binding completion calendar. Investors should use later exchange disclosures and audited segment results to test whether the physical build-out is translating into sales.
Finally, the ₹792 crore figure is an investment envelope, not automatically the final depreciated asset base. Timing of expenditure, capitalisation and trial runs can affect reported depreciation and return measures. Cash generation will also depend on advances, inventory cycles and customer collections.
What to watch next
First, watch commissioning of the remaining T5 sections. A rise from 10,000 MVA to 45,000 MVA is the biggest physical milestone still outstanding. Second, look for customer qualifications and orders specifically supported by Sehore.
Third, compare reported capital employed and depreciation with incremental revenue and margins. Fourth, monitor working capital: transformer projects can consume cash through inventory and receivables before collection. Finally, use delivered volumes rather than design capacity to judge utilisation.
Frequently asked questions
How much did CG Power invest in Sehore?
The company disclosed ₹792 crore, financed through QIP proceeds and internal accruals.
How much capacity is operational now?
The filing describes an initial 10,000 MVA as operational. T5 is planned to reach 45,000 MVA in phases.
What transformers can the plant make?
CG says the facility is designed for 220 kV to 1,200 kV class power transformers.
Does 35 units a month describe current output?
No. It is the facility’s stated design capability, not verified current production.
How to read the next financial disclosures
Quarterly revenue alone will not isolate the new plant because CG reports a broader industrial-systems business. The most useful disclosures would connect incremental transformer sales to T5 utilisation, order intake and delivery. If management provides only consolidated growth, analysts will need to compare capacity milestones with segment margins and working-capital movements.
A successful ramp should eventually show more than higher installed MVA. It should appear in dispatch volumes, customer acceptance, revenue and cash collection without a disproportionate rise in inventory. Conversely, rising depreciation or inventory before sales would indicate commissioning is running ahead of commercial absorption.
Export contribution deserves separate attention. International orders may diversify demand and support larger high-voltage units, but they can add certification, logistics, currency and collection risks. The release names exports as a target market without quantifying orders, destinations or revenue expectations.
Sources
The disclosed commissioning is the beginning of the ramp, not its completion. Later filings should establish whether subsequent phases arrive on schedule and whether orders, utilisation and cash collection follow the installed capacity.
The bottom line
Sehore has moved from project to production, but only its first phase is operational. The strategic case rests on high-voltage capacity and strong target markets; the investment case still requires orders, utilisation, margins and cash conversion.
Get the day’s top stories in your inbox
One concise email. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.



