Tabby funding has added $233 million of equity at a $6.5 billion valuation, giving the Saudi-headquartered fintech more capital to expand beyond buy now, pay later into regulated credit and money-management products. Tabby disclosed the round on 14 September 2026 and said completion remains subject to regulatory approvals, including from the Saudi Central Bank.
Everyone else is reporting a larger valuation; we are explaining how the round finances Tabby’s shift from a checkout button into a multi-product financial platform. That distinction matters because lending, stored-value accounts and business finance demand more regulatory permissions, risk controls and capital discipline than a narrow instalment-payment product.
Tabby funding: the verified deal terms
Tabby’s announcement identifies Blue Pool Capital as lead investor. Existing shareholders HSG, Wellington Management and Arbor Ventures also participated. The company did not disclose ownership percentages, liquidation preferences, the split between primary capital and any employee liquidity, or whether the $6.5 billion figure is pre-money or post-money; those details should not be inferred.
| Deal fact | Verified or attributed detail |
|---|---|
| Amount | $233 million in equity funding |
| Valuation | $6.5 billion, as stated by Tabby |
| Lead investor | Blue Pool Capital |
| Other named investors | HSG, Wellington Management and Arbor Ventures |
| Public disclosure | 14 September 2026 |
| Closing condition | Applicable regulatory approvals, including SAMA approval |
Reuters independently reported the transaction and quoted co-founder and chief executive Hosam Arab saying the proceeds are principally intended to deepen Tabby’s position in Saudi Arabia and the UAE. Arab News separately reported the amount, valuation and investor group. The agreement is therefore publicly disclosed and corroborated, while the company’s operating statistics remain company-supplied rather than audited figures available in the announcement.
Why the round is about more than BNPL
Tabby began as a way for shoppers to split purchases at checkout. Its current ambition is broader. The company says it now has consumer- and small-business-finance licences in Saudi Arabia, while its acquisition of the licensed wallet Tweeq added account, card and transfer capabilities. In the UAE, a stored-value-facilities licence supports Tabby Cash.
Those products change the operating model. A BNPL transaction is tied to a purchase and merchant relationship; a money account or longer-duration loan creates a continuing relationship with the customer. That can widen the revenue pool, but it also raises the importance of underwriting, liquidity, customer protection, fraud controls and regulatory oversight.
The company frames the round as funding for expansion across its two core markets, not a rapid geographic land grab. That is a meaningful choice. Concentrating on Saudi Arabia and the UAE lets Tabby reuse licences, distribution and customer data, while still requiring it to prove that users will adopt products beyond instalments.
The valuation embeds execution risk
The $6.5 billion headline follows an implied $4.5 billion valuation from a secondary share sale reported in October 2025. Those are different transactions: a secondary sale prices transfers between shareholders, while the new round supplies equity capital and includes a separate liquidity option for employees. Comparing the two offers a directional signal, not a complete measure of enterprise value or investor return.
Tabby says it has been profitable since 2023 and now handles more than $18 billion in annualised transaction volume. It also reports 25 million registered users and 70,000 business partners. These numbers help explain investor interest, but transaction volume is not revenue, registered users are not necessarily active borrowers, and the announcement does not publish audited profit, credit-loss, delinquency or funding-cost data.
That missing context is central to judging the Tabby funding round. A higher valuation can be justified if additional products deepen customer activity without weakening credit quality. It becomes harder to defend if growth relies on looser underwriting, expensive incentives or products that do not earn adequate returns after losses and funding costs.
What the employee liquidity element signals
Tabby says the round contains a liquidity option for employees and that share tenders since 2023 have enabled more than $100 million of sales by current and former staff. Employee liquidity can ease the pressure to pursue an early public listing solely to turn paper holdings into cash. It also means readers should not assume every dollar associated with the transaction funds company operations.
The company did not specify the size, price or seller participation in the new liquidity option. It is therefore safest to treat the tender as a retention and capital-structure feature rather than evidence of either insider confidence or insider selling pressure.
What founders and fintech operators should watch
For regional fintech founders, the deal illustrates a progression from transaction distribution to licensed products. Tabby’s checkout network gave it access to customers and merchants; licences and acquisitions let it attach longer-duration services to that network. The difficult part is not announcing more products but integrating risk, servicing and compliance without losing the simple user experience that drove adoption.
The wider funding environment also rewards proof of scale. Tabby’s company-supplied volume and user figures are much larger than a seed-stage traction story, and investors named in the round are backing a platform that already operates across two major Gulf markets. Early-stage operators should read that as a sequencing lesson: distribution can create the option to expand, but regulated finance requires controls before cross-selling becomes durable.
Recent Lapaas Voice coverage of PayU’s cross-border fraud-control layer shows why payments growth depends on infrastructure and risk management. Our report on the UAE’s SME banking protection rules explains the regulatory direction that broader fintech platforms must navigate.
In short: Tabby’s $233 million round is capital for a shift from purchase-linked instalments toward a regulated financial-services relationship. The valuation will ultimately be tested by whether those added products deepen profitable engagement while maintaining credit quality and regulatory trust.
Frequently asked questions
How much did Tabby raise?
Tabby announced $233 million in equity funding on 14 September 2026 at a stated valuation of $6.5 billion.
Who led the Tabby funding round?
Blue Pool Capital led the round. HSG, Wellington Management and Arbor Ventures, all existing shareholders, also participated.
What will Tabby use the money for?
Tabby says the capital will support deeper expansion in Saudi Arabia and the UAE as it broadens from buy now, pay later into credit and money-management services.
Is the transaction complete?
The company says completion remains subject to applicable regulatory approvals, including approval from the Saudi Central Bank.
Sources
- Tabby: $233 million equity round announcement, 14 September 2026
- Reuters reporting carried by EnterpriseAM: financing and company strategy, 15 September 2026
- Arab News: independent report on the round, 14 September 2026
- FinTech Global: independent direct report on the round, 14 September 2026
Get the day’s top stories in your inbox
One concise email. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.



